• Transportation Logo

    "We Drive District Five"


    The mission of the Transportation Department is to provide safe and timely transportation for the students of our district.  The Transportation Department is responsible for developing and executing District Five's transportation program in accordance with applicable state and federal laws and to support the policies of District Five.  The  transportation staff prepares bus routes and conducts school bus driver training for new drivers.  Additionally, when a violation of the student behavior code occurs on a school bus or other district vehicles, the Transportation Office will investigate the situation and assign consequences accordingly.  The Transportation Department also operates Activity Buses to support the school's sports, band, ROTC and other extracurricular programs within the District.   

    In preparation for the new school year, the Transportation Department is working to identify students who have elected to ride the bus upon our return before the end of July.  Students who have registered through Final Forms will be assigned a bus according to the school they attend.  Information about the school buses will be available the first week of August through the transportation office or the school.  Information about bus stop locations and times will be available on the school's registration day. 

    As additional students elect to ride the school bus, bus capacities may become limited, requiring buses to be re-routed to meet these needs.  In some cases, it may take up to fifteen work days to complete route adjustments before new students are allowed to ride.  If routing changes are completed sooner, parents will be notified via email as to when their student(s) will be able to ride the bus.

    Email is the preferred method of communication with our office.  Please keep in mind that buses are monitored by the office during the morning and afternoon runs and it may be difficult to reach us by telephone during those hours (6:00-8:30 a.m. and 2:00-4:30 p.m.)   If you have any questions please contact the appropreate transportation office listed below. 

    You may register to ride the bus through FinalForms, the online registration portal.


    BUS SCHEDULE INFORMATION 2023-2024 School Year


    Bus schedules for the 2023-2024 School Year will be available after August 4, 2023 either at the appropriate Transportation Office or the school where your student attends.  Additionally, transportation personnel will be at each school's "Registration Day" to assist parents and students with their bus information.  In order to plan for effective and safe bus routes, changes will not be made to the routes until after September 5, 2023.


    Chapin Transportation: 803-575-5856

    Email: chapintransportation@lexrich5.org


    Dutch Fork Transportation: 803-476-4990   

    Email: dutchforktransportation@lexrich5.org


    Irmo Transportation: 803-476-3252   

    Email: irmotransportation@lexrich5.org


    Special Needs Transportation: 803-476-3254

    Email: specialneedstransportation@lexrich5.org



  • Chapin Area Schools:

    Cindy Carter, Chapin Transportation Supervisor



    Chapin Elementary, Lake Murray Elementary, Chapin Intermediate, Chapin Middle, Chapin High, CATE, Spring Hill High, Piney Woods Elementary


    Irmo Area Schools:

    Linda Cook, Irmo Transportation Supervisor


    Harbison West Elementary, Irmo Elementary, Leaphart Elementary, Nursery Road Elementary, Seven Oaks Elementary, CrossRoads Intermediate, Irmo Middle, Irmo High, CATE, Spring Hill High


    Activity Program:

    Jake Shealy, Activity Manager


    Karen Nesbit, Activity Operations/Scheduling



    Mailing Address:

    Department of Transportation
    School District Five of 
    Lexington and Richland Counties
    1020 Dutch Fork Rd.
    Irmo, SC 29063

  • Dutch Fork Area Schools

    Rhonda Watson, Dutch Fork Transportation Supervisor



    Ballentine Elementary, Dutch Fork Elementary, H. E. Corley Elementary, Oak Pointe Elementary, River Springs Elementary, CrossRoads Intermediate, Dutch Fork Middle, Dutch Fork High, CATE, Spring Hill High School


    Special Needs Transportation

    Felica Andrews



    All schools within District Five


    District Transportation Office:

    1536 Old Tamah Rd

    Irmo, SC 29063



    Director of Transportation

    Harold Williams




    School Bus Driver Employment

    Please contact Jocelyn Seel for employment information.





    Vicki Beane