Return to Headlines

School District Five students earn awards at FBLA State Leadership conference

For Immediate Release – March 26, 2020



School District Five students earn awards at FBLA State Leadership conference

IRMO – A group of Lexington-Richland School District Five students earned top honors in this year’s Future Business Leaders of America (FBLA) State Leadership Conference in North Charleston March 13-15.  Students competed in various events. 


FBLA chapter members from Dutch Fork High School, Irmo High School International School for the Arts and Spring Hill High School Career Pathways Magnet attended.


School District Five state FBLA awards include:  1st place Organizational Leadership: Kathryn Bishop (Spring Hill High), 1st place Accounting Two: Joamae Cabalbag (Dutch Fork High), 1st place Economics: Lauren Chen (Dutch Fork High), 1stplace Personal Finance: Davion Deas (Irmo High), 2nd place Cyber Security: Austin Huang (Dutch Fork High), 1st place Insurance and Risk Management: Alison Kong (Dutch Fork High), 1st place Introduction to Financial Math: Laurence Miao (Dutch Fork High), 1st place Healthcare Administration: Ahalya Muraleedharan (Dutch Fork High), 1st place Accounting I: Garrett Priester (Irmo High), and 1st place Advertising: Jessie Zhao (Dutch Fork High). Meaghan Waddell, Tamar Washington, and Camille Ramirez (Irmo High) placed in 4th place in Entrepreneurship Team.


“I am proud of these students and the time and work they invested in preparing for the FBLA competitive events since early October,” said Sandra Cassell, Dutch Fork High School’s FBLA advisor.  “The preparation is above and beyond the requirements of their regular class schedules.  The students represent the best of School District Five in their academic excellence, leadership, and community service activities."


FBLA is the high school division of Future Business Leaders of America-Phi Beta Lambda, Inc. FBLA helps high school students prepare for careers in business through academic competitions, leadership development, and educational programs.


The national conference is currently scheduled for June 29 – July 2 in Salt Lake City, Utah.