Return to Headlines

School District Five students selected for state and national choirs

For Immediate Release – November 30, 2022



School District Five students selected for state and national choirs

IRMO Several Lexington-Richland School District Five choral students have been selected to participate in State and National choirs.


Chapin High School Junior, Samuel Cleveland, was selected to participate in the American Choral Director’s National Honor Choir for their national convention in Cincinnati, Ohio. This conference will take place February 22-25, 2023. Cleveland auditioned for this high honor and was selected out of 4,000 auditions. He will

join 300 other high school singers who will make up the National Soprano, Alto, Tenor, Bass (SATB) High School Honor Choir. This ensemble will be conducted by Dr. Eugene Rogers, Director of Choral Activities at the University of Michigan and Director of the two-time Grammy Award Winning Ensemble, The Washington Chorus (Washington, D.C.).


This year’s audition for 2023 South Carolina All State Choir were held live for the first time since November 2019. The following students were selected for SC All State Choir, which is the state’s highest honor for high school choir, Andrea Aun (Chapin High), Alysha Barnes (Dutch Fork High), Morgan Carpenter (Irmo High), Samuel Cleveland (Chapin High), Aeryn Downs (Dutch Fork High), Aidan Duncan (Chapin High), Lillian Jenkins (Irmo High), Collins McBeth (Irmo High), Veronica Merchelski (Chapin High), Darwin Newman-Norlund (Dutch Fork High), Miya Palmer (Chapin High), Sidney Shepard (Chapin High), Nathaniel Stewart (Dutch Fork High), Cameron Thomas (Dutch Fork High), and Erika Tisdale (Irmo High). These students will travel to Rock Hill, SC, on March 2-4, 2023, to attend the SC All State Choir weekend. The students will participate in a three-day event that will calumniate in a concert.


Several students were also selected to participate in the South Carolina American Choral Directors Honor Choir including Rebecca Anderson (Chapin High), Anna Kate Burrows (Chapin High), Mckynize Foxworth (Chapin High), Kenzie Gable (Chapin High), Lillian Jenkins (Irmo High), Chole Kirkland (Chapin High), Hollings Lesesne (Chapin High), Collins McBeth (Chapin High), (Irmo High), Veronica Merchelski (Chapin High), Danaiya Richardson (Irmo High), Meadow Sapienza-Chaney (Irmo High), Sidney Shepard (Chapin High), Erika Tisdale (Irmo High), Christiana Valdez (Irmo High), Maya Walsh-Wagner (Chapin High), Lillian Yorio (Irmo High). These students performed October 14-15, 2022 in Central, SC, at Southern Wesleyan University.