Return to Headlines

School District Five educators receive statewide recognition

  For Immediate Release – January 30, 2019


School District Five educators receive statewide recognition


IRMO –  Three Lexington-Richland School District Five educators have received awards for their outstanding contribution to the advancement of exceptional children and youth.


The South Carolina Council for Exceptional Children (SCCEC) gives out awards in several categories each year.  School District Five faculty and staff were recognized for the following categories: Principal of the Year, Exceptional Teacher of the Year and Para-Educator of the Year.


Ed Davis who serves as the principal at Harbison West Elementary School has been named the SCCEC Principal of the Year,


“This award is a reflection of Harbison West,” said Principal Ed Davis.  “From the time I started here, I remember telling my family that Harbison West is a special place.  We have everything that you want to see in the world of elementary education right here at our school and this is a place where we can serve every child and be a model for what elementary education services should be around the country.”


Dana Bennett who is a teacher at Chapin Elementary School has been named the SCCEC Exceptional Teacher of the Year.


“It is quite an honor to receive the Exceptional Teacher of the Year Award,” said Dana Bennett.  “I feel like all the people I work with are all equally deserving.  We have amazing teachers in the district and I am just one of them so I appreciate the recognition.”


Monica Brumagin who is a special education teacher assistant at Dutch Fork High School has been named the SCCEC Para-Educator of the Year. 


“I am just really shocked and a little uncomfortable receiving this award,” said Monica Brumagin.  “It takes a team to get the work done and we all work together toward a common goal and I am just amazed that I am being honored.”


Bethany Reilly and Brenna Lamprey, teachers at Harbison West Elementary School, also received a $750 mini grant from the SCCEC.  They plan to build an inclusive playground for all students to have access to equipment at Harbison West Elementary. 


“Play is a time where friendships are built and fostered,” Reilly said.  “If a student does not have the same opportunities to equipment, then they are already at a disadvantage to build positive social relationships. The opportunity to begin providing access for all students is just one simple way that we can inspire everyone to #BeTheChange.”


The South Carolina Council for Exceptional Children is a collaborative community of professionals who are the voice and vision of special education in South Carolina.  The mission of the council is to improve the educational outcomes and quality of life of individuals with exceptionalities and their families through the actions of professionals, advocates, and other agencies.


“It is always exciting to be able to celebrate the exceptional staff we have in School District Five,” said Dr. Angie Slatton, School District Five Director of Special Services.  “Each of these educators go above and beyond every day to ensure all their students are challenged to be the best they can be.  While these award winners all serve different students, they all show similar qualities that include compassion, dedication and high expectations for their students.  It is an honor to work alongside each of them!”


The award recipients will be honored for their achievement during a special luncheon in Myrtle Beach on March 1, 2019.