Return to Headlines

School District Five teacher named the American Legion Department of S.C. 2020 Teacher of the Year

For Immediate Release – June 18, 2020



School District Five teacher named the American Legion Department of S.C. 2020 Teacher of the Year

IRMO – A Lexington-Richland School District Five teacher has been selected as the American Legion Department of South Carolina 2020 Teacher of the Year.


Harbison West Elementary School special education teacher Jeanne Edwards was nominated for the prestigious award by Post 193 in Chapin, S.C.  The group honored her during a small ceremony on June 11. The award is normally presented at the annual Department Convention in May but because of COVID-19 it was cancelled this year. 


“It’s an honor to be chosen for this award and it holds a special place in my heart especially since I grew up as an Army Brat,” Edwards said. “The American Legion is a wonderful organization that is about giving back to the community with a focus of mentoring youths and sponsoring those in need. I am only as successful as the people who stand and work beside me. None of my success would be possible without my wonderful coworkers at Harbison West Elementary School and all the support I receive from School District Five, so I share this award with them.”


Edwards has a master’s degree in special education from Walden University and she is Nationally Board Certified.


“Our recipient has mastered the special education classroom and she knows her influence does not end at the end of the school day,” Walt Richardson, Department Commander said. “She has mastered that mentoring outside of the classroom is just as important by supporting her students at sporting events.  She has many former students that she still mentors to this day.  She is a leader for change and is changing attitudes, perceptions and lives every day.”


The American Legion Department of South Carolina sponsors the Teacher of the Year award each year to recognize an outstanding K-12 classroom teacher in South Carolina.  Each Post nominates one teacher.  The nominations are then judged by the Department’s Education and School Awards Sub-Committee who selects the winner.


“I am very proud of Mrs. Edwards but not surprised when I saw she was selected for this award,” said Harbison West Elementary Principal Randy Norman. “Mrs. Edwards is dedicated to her profession and goes above and beyond for her students.”