Return to Headlines

School District Five announces 2019-2020 Support Employees of the Year Finalists

Lexington-Richland School District Five has named finalists for its 2019-2020 Support Employee of the Year award.


The finalists are: Christina Woody, receptionist at Ballentine Elementary; Kimberly Carroll, special education teacher assistant at Chapin Middle; and Betsy Crawford, media assistant at Lake Murray Elementary. The district Support Employee of the Year will be announced on May 6. 


Woody is in her second year working for the district and is also a graduate of Irmo High School. She received her bachelor's degree in business administration and marketing from the University of South Carolina.


Woody said, “I think the most important part of my job is greeting parents and family members when they visit the school and making them feel welcome.  Parents and Grandparents want to know that their children are being taken care of and that they can visit or have lunch with them and feel welcome to do so.”


Her favorite moments are having the opportunity to walk with a kindergartner or student down the hallway to his or her classroom after school has begun and learn their favorite color or about their new, sparkly shoes. Woody values her role in that she is able to change the course of anyone’s day as the first face visitors see adding, “We don’t always know what is going on in other’s lives, kindness and patience is crucial to the environment of the school.”


Carroll has been with School District Five for 2 years.  She received her bachelor’s degree in criminal justice from the University of South Carolina and also graduated from the Criminal Justice Academy after college.


Carroll compares her role to the many talents of the Transformers who have the unique ability to respond in an instant to an always changing environment: a guardian like Bumblebee, a physician and pacifist like Ratchet, an activist like Megatron, and a compassionate leader like Optimus Prime.


“The greatest reward is seeing the growth in our students no matter how large or how small. I am able to witness growth in not only the student's academics, but in their social, emotional and physical successes,” said Carroll. “I I strive every day to integrate our class with the general school population and to see them build relationships and contribute to the overall culture of the school is so rewarding.”


Crawford joined School District Five 15 years ago. She received her bachelor’s degree in interdisciplinary studies from the University of South Carolina.


As a media specialist, Crawford enjoys the thrill of a student excited about reading returning to the library and asking for more recommendations about a particular subject.


“If a child becomes excited about learning through reading, it can transform the trajectory of their life,” said Crawford. “My role serves as a mini-gateway to opportunity and imagination for our young library patrons. If they associate reading and learning with positive emotions, magic can happen!”


Support Employees of the Year from School District Five include: Shannon Livingston (Academy for Success), Christina Woody (Ballentine Elementary), John Lindler (Center for Advanced Technical Studies) Cheryl Bowman (Chapin Elementary), Marcie Reid (Dutch Fork Elementary), Charisa Tisdale (H. E. Corley Elementary), Tiffany Steck (Harbison West Elementary), Robin Looby (Irmo Elementary), Betsy Crawford (Lake Murray Elementary), Alicia Jenkins (Leaphart Elementary), Dorothy Harshaw (Nursery Road Elementary), Shelly Holton (Oak Pointe Elementary), Sarah Leverett (River Springs Elementary), Natalie Jackson (Seven Oaks Elementary), Renee Brooks (Chapin Intermediate), Taylor Gilseth (CrossRoads Intermediate), Kim Carroll (Chapin Middle), Barbara Dowling (Dutch Fork Middle), Karen Mejia (Irmo Middle), Ruben Martinez (Chapin High), Etta Goodwin (Dutch Fork High), Karen Rogers (Irmo High), Lavenda Frick (Spring Hill High), Ronald Carter (Transportation), and Susan Noller (District Office).